Tag Archives: Hampden

Scotland v San Marino – previous Hampden meetings
By J Bleasdale |

THE Road to Euro 2020 through the conventional route might be closing for Scotland, but Sunday’s visit of San Marino represents an opportunity to build confidence ahead of the Nations League Playoffs in March, and their second chance of ending a 22 year wait for a major Finals appearance. It’s the fourth time the minnows [Read more]

Posted in Uncategorized | Also tagged , ,
Clarke was a shoe in for the Scotland job, can he prove he’s the perfect fit?
By J Bleasdale |

WHEN Alex McLeish was removed from his post as Scotland manager last month, it was a certainty that his successor was going to be a Scot. After the reign of Berti Vogts, the thought of another foreign manager was never going to be accepted by a short sighted SFA and media. That approach meant that [Read more]

Scottish Cup Semi Final Preview 2019
By J Bleasdale |

THE penultimate stage of this years William Hill Scottish Cup is just days away, with four sides hoping this weekend isn’t their last trip to Hampden. Fans of Hearts, Inverness Caledonian Thistle, Aberdeen and Celtic will descend on the south side of Glasgow confident that their side will reach the Final on 25 May. There’s [Read more]

Betfred Cup Final 2018/19 Preview – Aberdeen v Celtic
By J Bleasdale |

FOR the second time in three seasons, Scotland’s top two for the past four years will battle it out for the first major trophy of the season. Aberdeen and Celtic go head to head in Sunday’s Betfred League Cup Final at Hampden in a repeat of the 2016 showpiece. It was the Bhoys who triumphed [Read more]

Posted in Uncategorized | Also tagged , ,
Semi Final Farce sums up the incompetence of Scottish Football’s Governing Bodies
By J Bleasdale |

THE Betfred Cup Semi Final draw threw together two mouthwatering ties between four of Scotland’s biggest clubs. A rejuvenated Hearts were paired with Brendan Rodgers all conquering Celtic side whilst Aberdeen were drawn to face Rangers. The prospect of two of the biggest rivalries outside of the Old Firm and Edinburgh Derbies in the last [Read more]

Scotland’s modern (men’s) football history
By Guest Writer |

With Scotland’s UEFA Nations League campaign away to a winning start, now is a good time to reflect on matches down the years. James Grapsas, a Scotland enthusiast based in Australia, recently published a book on point: A Modern History of Scotland International Football Matches. Craig Brown wrote the book’s foreword. The book is an eBook [Read more]

Posted in Other | Also tagged ,
Scottish Cup Final Preview – Motherwell v Celtic
By J Bleasdale |

ONE of the most eagerly anticipated dates in the Scottish Football calendar is just days away as Hampden Park gets ready to host the 2018 Scottish Cup Final. Unlike their counterparts down south who devalue their showpiece event by proclaiming a 17th place League finish as a greater achievement than Wembley glory, the Scottish Cup [Read more]

Posted in Scottish Cup | Also tagged , ,
Scottish Cup Semi Final Preview
By J Bleasdale |

NINETY ONE teams have participated in this seasons Scottish Cup, now only four remain as the Road to Glory reaches the penultimate stage this weekend. Fans of Motherwell, Aberdeen, Celtic and Rangers head to Hampden for the Semi Finals, hoping to see their team book a return visit to the National Stadium for the showpiece [Read more]

McLeish shows his predecessor how friendly should be approached
By J Bleasdale |

MANY eyebrows were raised when Alex McLeish named his Scotland squad for the upcoming friendly matches against Costa Rica and Hungary next weekend. Out went underachievers of the previous regime, such as Ikechi Anya, Chris Martin, Barry Bannan, Steven Fletcher and Robert Snodgrass, all of whom are either not getting regular first team football or [Read more]

Posted in International | Also tagged ,
Betfred Cup Semi Final Preview
By J Bleasdale |

FOUR teams, one venue, one aim! Yes it’s the Semi Finals of the Betfred League Cup this weekend. On Saturday, holders Celtic take on Hibernian at Hampden, which also hosts the second Semi Final on Sunday when Rangers face Motherwell. It promises to be two interesting ties for various reasons. The Celtic and Hibs match [Read more]

Posted in League Cup | Also tagged , , , ,