Tag Archives: Hampden

Semi Final Farce sums up the incompetence of Scottish Football’s Governing Bodies
By J Bleasdale |

THE Betfred Cup Semi Final draw threw together two mouthwatering ties between four of Scotland’s biggest clubs. A rejuvenated Hearts were paired with Brendan Rodgers all conquering Celtic side whilst Aberdeen were drawn to face Rangers. The prospect of two of the biggest rivalries outside of the Old Firm and Edinburgh Derbies in the last [Read more]

Scotland’s modern (men’s) football history
By Guest Writer |

With Scotland’s UEFA Nations League campaign away to a winning start, now is a good time to reflect on matches down the years. James Grapsas, a Scotland enthusiast based in Australia, recently published a book on point: A Modern History of Scotland International Football Matches. Craig Brown wrote the book’s foreword. The book is an eBook [Read more]

Posted in Other | Also tagged ,
Scottish Cup Final Preview – Motherwell v Celtic
By J Bleasdale |

ONE of the most eagerly anticipated dates in the Scottish Football calendar is just days away as Hampden Park gets ready to host the 2018 Scottish Cup Final. Unlike their counterparts down south who devalue their showpiece event by proclaiming a 17th place League finish as a greater achievement than Wembley glory, the Scottish Cup [Read more]

Posted in Scottish Cup | Also tagged , ,
Scottish Cup Semi Final Preview
By J Bleasdale |

NINETY ONE teams have participated in this seasons Scottish Cup, now only four remain as the Road to Glory reaches the penultimate stage this weekend. Fans of Motherwell, Aberdeen, Celtic and Rangers head to Hampden for the Semi Finals, hoping to see their team book a return visit to the National Stadium for the showpiece [Read more]

McLeish shows his predecessor how friendly should be approached
By J Bleasdale |

MANY eyebrows were raised when Alex McLeish named his Scotland squad for the upcoming friendly matches against Costa Rica and Hungary next weekend. Out went underachievers of the previous regime, such as Ikechi Anya, Chris Martin, Barry Bannan, Steven Fletcher and Robert Snodgrass, all of whom are either not getting regular first team football or [Read more]

Posted in International | Also tagged ,
Betfred Cup Semi Final Preview
By J Bleasdale |

FOUR teams, one venue, one aim! Yes it’s the Semi Finals of the Betfred League Cup this weekend. On Saturday, holders Celtic take on Hibernian at Hampden, which also hosts the second Semi Final on Sunday when Rangers face Motherwell. It promises to be two interesting ties for various reasons. The Celtic and Hibs match [Read more]

Posted in League Cup | Also tagged , , , ,
Will the Scotland turnaround be complete or is it another false dawn?
By J Bleasdale |

TWELVE months ago, it looked like the Road to Russia was shut on Scotland. Two appalling results, a lucky home draw with Lithuania and a resounding 3-0 thumping in Slovakia, put the Scots World Cup Qualifying campaign in serious jeopardy and looked as though was going to push Manager Gordon Strachan out of a job. [Read more]

Scotland v England review
By J Bleasdale |

THERE are many words that could sum up the drama that unfolded at Hampden on Saturday. At the start, there was excitement as kick off approached in this Auld Enemy World Cup qualifier. Frustration at an inept first half performance where Scotland were fortunate to still be level. Hope when Leigh Griffiths’ first free kick [Read more]

Scottish Cup Final 2016/17 Preview – Aberdeen v Celtic
By J Bleasdale |

SCOTTISH Football’s main showpiece occasion is just three days away when the best two sides in the country this season, Aberdeen and Celtic, take to the Hampden turf on Saturday in the Scottish Cup Final. This will be the seventh time the two sides have met in the Final, Celtic winning the first three in [Read more]

Posted in Scottish Cup | Also tagged , ,
Scottish Cup Semi Final Preview
By J Bleasdale |

THIS weekend sees the penultimate stage of Scotland’s most prestigious knockout competition as the Semi Finals of the 2016/17 Scottish Cup take place at Hampden. Fans of Hibernian, Aberdeen, Celtic and Rangers descend on the National Stadium, hoping their club can take the next step to lifting the oldest trophy in British Football (it should [Read more]

Posted in Scottish Cup | Also tagged , , , ,